Piper's Hill College


Delivering Equality of Opportunities in Schools (DEIS) and School Self Evaluation (SSE)

What is DEIS?

It is a national programme aimed at addressing the educational needs of young people.

Each DEIS plan is specific to each DEIS school but contains the following 8 key areas:

  1. Literacy
  2. Numeracy
  3. Attendance
  4. Retention
  5. Attainment
  6. Transitions
  7. Partnership with Parents
  8. Partnership with others.

Our DEIS plan also incorporates SSE planning

DEIS is the whole school plan for Piper's Hill College. It will be continually monitored over a 3 year period.

DEIS is grounded on the following principles:

  • That every child and young person deserves an equal chance to access, participate in, and benefit from education;
  • Every person should have the opportunity to reach his or her full educational potential for personal, social and economic reasons, and
  • Education is a critical factor in promoting social inclusion and economic development.

What is SSE?

School self-evaluation (SSE) is an important process influencing the quality of the education provided for children and young people in schools. Since its formal introduction to the Irish school system in 2012, schools have engaged with the process in varying ways to advance aspects of teaching, learning and wellbeing. Our DEIS planning incorporates SSE, as we plan across the eight areas of DEIS we thread the SSE requirements and use the SSE 6 step process.

What does it provide for Piper's Hill College?

There is 110 million euro of funding directed to DEIS at a national level, therefore it is a huge advantage to a school community to have DEIS.

In Piper's Hill College we have the following:

HSCL teacher, participation in the Schools Completion Programme, LCA, JCSP, NEPS provision, Schools books grant scheme, School Meals and PDST Supports. We also have a reduced Pupil Teacher ratio of 17.75:1 and participate in the Behaviour For Learning (BFL) programme

The DEIS Team at Piper's Hill College

Co-ordinator: Ms. Michelle Costigan

All teaching staff are a member of one of eight DEIS teams with responsibility for a particular area of DEIS.


Team Leader


Ms. Kimberly Edwards

Ms. Grainne O'Meara


Ms. Maria Keeley

Ms. Grainne Brennan


Ms. Antoinette Barrett


Ms. Elaine Tobin

Ms. Sinead Miley


Mr. John Sharkey


Ms. Anne Moran

Ms. Niamh Doyle

Partnership with parents

Ms. Orla Rowan

Partnership with others

Mr. Michael Foley

Naas, Co Kildare, Ireland
045 897885
Kildare and Wicklow Education and Training Board
© 2024 Piper's Hill College